The Novels of Neil M Gunn A Critical Study

Margery McCulloch


Neil Gunn wrote twenty novels between 1926 and 1954. This is a full length critical study of all twenty and as such ia a valuable complement to the books themselves and to the biography published in 1981. Dr McCulloch situates Gunn's work in the context of modernism and the twentirth century Scottish Literary Renaissance, and investigates his development as novelist from the early novels of Highland decline through the positive depiction of essential Highland experience in his middle-period books to the preoccupation with themes of disintegration and freedom in the modern world which are to be found in his later work.


The Novels of Neil M Gunn A Critical Study

SKU: 23
  • ISBN: 07073-0469-5

    Publisher: Scottish Accedemic Press

    Version: Hardback (1987)

    Condition: Ex Library